SENSE – Schools Excelling through National Skills Education – is a set of specifications and guidelines meant to assist schools in training welders.

The program guidelines were originally published in 1995 and 1996 through grants received from the U.S. Department of Education and Department of Labor. Based on a survey of the welding industry, the SENSE guidelines define two levels of knowledge and skills required in the welding workplace. Individuals trained in Training Organizations aligned to the SENSE guidelines may implement SENSE Level I: Entry Welder and/or SENSE Level II: Advanced Welder.


The AWS SENSE accreditation program is currently being developed and will be available for the 2019-2020 academic year. AWS is also developing a SENSE-aligned curriculum, which will be available in the summer of 2019.


Trainees that complete a SENSE-compliant training program are eligible to receive an AWS SENSE certificate of completion and wallet card. The SENSE program includes four different certificates of completion that a trainee can earn, one for each welding process offered (SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and FCAW).

Click here to see the SENSE Online website

SENSE Registration Packet

Calling CWIs and CWEs

AWS Plastic Conference

CWI volunteers needed

to help AWS improve & update the current SENSE exam bank.

CWIs and/or CWEs

who are interested in becoming an auditor for the SENSE accreditation program.

If you are interested in becoming a SENSE item writer and/or a SENSE auditor, please contact us at

Item Writing Workshop

June 25-27, 2019
AWS Miami Headquarters

Provide Real-World Questions to Welding Students for Credit.

AWS needs help developing multiple-choice questions for student exams administered at SENSE accredited schools, and is holding a workshop on “Item Writing,” for CWI volunteers to learn the science behind developing acceptable multiple-choice exam questions.

For your time and effort, AWS will:

  • Teach you the craft of item writing.
  • Give you 20 PDHs upon successful workshop completion.
  • Provide you a complimentary subscription to relevant AWS published books.
  • Provide you opportunities to participate on the Qualification & Certification Exam Bank Committee that reviews and approves AWS certification exam items.
  • Get you discounted rates for your workshop hotel stay.
  • Provide breakfast and lunch daily.

American Welding Society Learning